Past Winners

1961 B Wilkinson
1962 D Clegg
1963 K Garside
1964 PH Gaunt
1965 JR Sayer
1966 B Holden
1967 CJ Hemingway
1968 B Wilkinson
1969 CJ Hemingway
1970 PH Gaunt
1971 RM Shepherd
1972 PH Gaunt
1973 T Wright
1974 K Lister
1975 J Metcalfe
1976 RM Shepherd
1977 N Jefferies
1978 RM Shepherd
1979 MC Rathmell
1980 P Cartwright
1981 P Cartwright
1982 MC Rathmell
1983 P Cartwright
1984 S Saunders
1985 J Reynolds
1986 I Weatherill
1987 J Lampkin
1988 G Scholey
1989 I Weatherill
1990 P Alderson
1991 P Alderson
1992 R Crawford
1993 D Lampkin
1994 D Lampkin
1995 R Crawford
1996 S Colley
1997 D Lampkin
1998 W Braybrooke
1999 D Thorpe
2000 J Lampkin
2002 G Jarvis
2003 D Thorpe
2004 G Jarvis
2005 G Jarvis
2006 G Jarvis
2007 I Austermuhle
2008 D Thorpe
2009 S Haslam
2010 S Haslam
2011 P Disney
2012 I Austermuhle
2013 I Austermuhle
2014 I Austermuhle
2015 R Sadler
2016 G Kendrew
2017 R Sadler

2018 T Minta

2019 D Peace

2020 A Chilton

2021 R Sadler

2022 R Sadler

2023 R Sadler

Next White Rose Trial


White Rose 2023

Richmond Club member Richard Sadler makes history


There have been only 3 riders who have ever won the White Rose Trial 4 times:


Graham Jarvis, Ian Austermuhle and Richard Sadler


And now Richard Sadler breaks that record with another incredible win making him top dog in the history of the White Rose Trial with 5 wins to his credit.

In the 2023 event, Richard had his first dab as early as section 3, but then cleaned every other section up to section 28 where he had a 5 mark penalty, at this point he was now 1 mark down on second placed man, Oliver Smith from Hookwood trials club. A dab at the second sub at Rocky Outcrop and another at the first sub of Muddy Gully and finally a 3 at the difficult Knock Knee section saw him finish on 11 marks lost; just beating the aforementioned Olivier Smith by the slender margin of one mark!



Richard Sadler TrialsUK White Rose Winner 2023

Pictured here on the 2022 event at Easy Street

Richard Sadler

Trial History

Back in 1958 Reg Roberts a West Leeds member became disillusioned with riding small course events and dreamed of running a one lap long distance trial.

After over two years of planning, obtaining permissions, plotting sections etc the first event was run as a West Yorkshire Group trial.

The trial was originally named the Dancaster Trial, named after the first President of the club, Harry Dancaster, in 1947. This name remained until 1976 when the trial was awarded national status and the White Rose Trophy was donated by the Royalty Inn, which was the pub in Pudsey where the club met for their business meetings at the time

Having run two years successfully as a group trial the event was then upgraded to a Yorkshire Centre trial for the next ten events.

The club was keen to run the event as a national trial, but before that could take place the event had to run as a Regional Restricted for 3 years.

These 3 events were vetted by an ACU steward from each of the three invited Centres, who confirmed that the event was of a good enough standard to be run as a national, and so the White Rose was born.

Awarded a National status in 1976.


General Information

A common request from riders is wanting to ride together with a friend, the regulations state it is early entry, late number, so the way to ensure that you ride alongside your friend is to make your entries as close together as possible and be riding the same route, as you probably know the classes are grouped together; clubman riders start first as a group; followed by White Rose riders in their group and finally the 50/50 riders.

This system is put together like this so as to give the different classes a fair chance of riding the sections when they are in a similar condition. This is also one of the reasons why late entries are not allowed. Once the closing date has passed the rider numbers/classes are allocated.



2023 Results Trivia

Total sections ridden 5586

Total cleans scored 2514
Total fives scored 647

Retirements 18


The Results